Link to USRL TWIB Site

USRL Directory
Current Roster
Current Stats
All Time Roster
Past Seasons
Season Totals
Season Leaders
Career Hitting
Career Pitching
Career Leaders
Post Season
No Hitters


Rollie Fingers
Dave Winfield
Steve Garvey
Founded in 1969, the Topeka Sizzlers enter their 4th season in the USRL with virtually no hope of a post season berth


In the ninth season of their existence, the Topeka Sizzlers finally reached the promised land of a United States Retro League (“USRL”) Championship.  After compiling a USRL worst 45-117 record during the 1972 season, Topeka steadily improved, and after rewarding the Sizzler faithful with the team’s first ever post season berth in 1975, the Sizzlers took it a step further by advancing to the World Series in 1976.  Unfortunately, they could not deliver a title, losing to the Jersey Rattlers in six games.  This season, the Sizzlers made amends and went the distance.  After winning 109 games during the regular season, and storming to the Eastern Division title by twelve games, Topeka beat the Unadilla Cyclone in five games to advance to the World Series.  In the Series, Topeka met up with the red hot Minneapolis Millers, and although Minneapolis proved to be a tough foe, Topeka again managed a five game series victory to celebrate their first title.  All season long Topeka had been led by their pitching staff, which included Cy Young Award winner Phil Niekro, fellow 24 game winner Frank Tanana, and bullpen ace Rollie Fingers.  But, in the World Series, the Sizzlers used a different approach as their offense stepped up to lead them to the crown.  As a team, the Sizzlers hit an impressive .322 in the series, and World Series MVP Dave Winfield hit an incredible .611, with 1 HR, 5 RBIs, and 3 SBs.


After celebrating the championship, the Sizzlers are already gearing up for 1978, and hope to add another playoff appearance to their growing list of accomplishments.  Another championship also remains a possibility as the Sizzlers are led by a number of rising young stars, including Dave Winfield, Darrell Porter, Gene Garber, Gorman Tomas, Jose Cruz and Terry Puhl.  Plus, the Sizzlers retain the rights to veterans Rollie Fingers, Ron Cey, Frank Tanana, Phil Niekro, and Steve Garvey.  Next season promises to be an exciting one for the Sizzlers, so check back often to see if the Sizzlers have what it takes to win another league title.

Ron Cey
Gorman Thomas
Jose Cruz
Topeka Sizzlers 1975 Wild Card
Topeka Sizzlers 1976 Division Series Winner
Topeka Sizzlers 1977 USRL Champs